Skip to content

Working on hgsvn

June 20, 2009

Yesterday I’ve taken over maintenance of hgsvn from it’s original author Antoine Pitrou. Many thanks to Antoine at this point for doing a great job on this tool!

In case you don’t know, hgsvn is “a set of scripts to work locally on Subversion checkouts using Mercurial.”

My aim is not to make these scripts a full-blown Subversion extensions for Mercurial. hgsubversion or the convert extension will probably do a much better job with tighter integration as it’s in the scope of hgsvn. So the main focus is on fixing bugs and to finish and release the hgpushsvn script that commits changes in your Mercurial repository back to Subversion.

The reason why I decided to work on this project is pretty simple: I’ve made good experiences with it and I still want to keep using it.

With hgpushsvn the tool provides three scripts for the most basic tasks:

hgimportsvn initializes a hg repository and fetches the sources from svn, optionally starting at a specific revision.

hgpullsvn pulls new change sets from svn to your local hg repository.

hgpushsvn pushes back your local commits to the svn repository.

Using hgsvn for a while now, I’m feeling very comfortable with these scripts and they fit very well into my workflow.

The next things I’m about to do are:

  • fix the unittests, at least one is broken ATM
  • setup a buildbot to have some automated tests
  • finish hgpullsvn

If you’re using hgsvn, please file bug reports or submit patches on the issue tracker.

6 Comments
  1. July 9, 2009 8:55 am

    Great work :). Do you plan to make also svn file renaming when file is renamed in hg repository ?

    • July 16, 2009 4:45 am

      Thanks! I’m not planning to add much features to hgsvn, but renamed files is worth considering.

  2. Evan permalink
    July 14, 2009 7:35 am

    Thank you for your contributing this project!! hgsvn helps a lot for me, awesome work :D

  3. September 29, 2009 9:03 am

    Good job.
    I am trying to use it with a Chinese and Japanese WINXP.

  4. October 12, 2009 9:01 am

    Hi

    If I haven’t read permission to some folder when running hgimportsvn && hgpullsvn.
    After some days ,I got the read permission to these folders.
    The hgpullsvn will not add these folders to hg repository.

    This is right,because these folders is not added at this REV.

    Do you have some best solution for this situation?

    • Anonymous permalink
      October 12, 2009 9:07 am

      I think it’s best to checkout the repository again. AFAIKT to adjust your current checkout would mean to modify the repositories history as the folders weren’t imported at some point, but should’ve been imported with your new privileges.

Comments are closed.

